Rajasthan News

Over 78 per cent voting in Churu Assembly election

by RajasthanDirect
Dec 13, 2013

Around 78.55 per cent voters cast their votes in Churu Assembly poll on Friday which ended peacefully amid tight security arrangements, a spokesperson of Chief Electoral Officer said.

Nine candidates are in fray including sitting Congress MLA Hazi Maqbool and BJP’s Rajendra Singh Rathore.

The polling started at 8 AM amid tight security arrangements and ended at 5 PM.

Polling to this seat was postponed after the demise of BSP candidate Jagdish Meghwal.

The 14th State Legislative Assembly polls were held on December 2 in 199 out of 200 constituencies in 33 districts of the state.

BJP swept the polls winning 162 Assembly seat and today Vasundhra Raje was sworn in as the Chief Minister of the state.

The result of today’s voting in Churu constituency will be declared on December 16.

src: PTI

Comments are closed.