Rajasthan News

Vasundhara Raje to ascend throne with Aan Baan Shaan

by RajasthanDirect
Dec 13, 2013

Now the election battle won by Vasundhara Raje, it’s time for coronation. She would ascend the throne once again after five years.

After a landslide and historic win over Congress taking 162 seats in the 14th state assembly elections, the Scindia scion would return to power in a manner befitting a Maharani and in this case an elected one. Even her party said the celebrations would be in keeping with the “aan, baan and shaan (pride, principles and grandeur) of royal Rajasthan.

A host of constitutional heads and BJP leaders are expected to witness the special moment for which seating arrangements have been made all through the Janpath from the state assembly premises to right up to the Ambedkar Circle.

Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal, Chhattisgarh chief minister Raman Singh, Madhya Pradesh chief minister-designate Shivraj Singh Chouhan, along with BJP president Rajnath Singh, senior leader L K Advani and party’s prime minister candidate Narendra Modi, Telugu Desam leader Chandrababu Naidu, Uddhav Thackeray and Raj Thackeray will attend the function.

Governor Margret Alva will administer the oath of office to Raje around midday. This is the second time she would be assuming the state chief minister’s office. Her first stint in the top office was from 2003 to 2008.

Raje has returned to power after inflicting a humiliating defeat on Congress—the party was never reduced to a measly 21 seats in the 200-member house in the state’s 61 years history. Incidentally, election for the last remaining Churu assembly seat would also be held on Friday. Polling here was postponed after a national party’s candidate died.

The state government has arranged for seating 30,000 people on Janpath. Nearly a lakh BJP workers — to whom Raje’s invites have been sent through the party’s mandal units across the state—are expected to watch the event from the sidelines on huge LEDs put up across the city. At least 12 LEDs have been installed on the half-a-km long Rajpath.

On Thursday evening, Raje herself inspected the arrangements at the venue.

The main ceremony would be held on the front ramparts of the state assembly. Besides Alva, Raje and outgoing chief minister Ashok Gehlot, leader of opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj, leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley, Venkaiah Naidu, Shahnawaz Hussain, Rajiv Pratap Rudi and other dignitaries would be seated on the ramparts. On one side of the dais, the priests and leaders of different faiths would be seated, while on the other side the newly elected MLAs and their families would be accommodated.

“From VVIPs to block-level party workers to the common man, everyone has been invited to the function,” said a BJP spokesperson. “After oath taking, BJP workers will get down to their Mission-25,” the spokesperson said, referring to party’s target of winning the state’s all 25 Lok Sabha seats in the 2014 general elections.

src: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/27263365.cms

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.