Rajasthan News

Total 562 candidates withdraw nomination for Rajasthan polls

by RajasthanDirect
Nov 16, 2013

On the last day of withdrawing nominations for the Assembly elections in Rajasthan, 562 candidates withdraw their nomination from different constituencies in Rajasthan.

A total of 2,153 candidates which includes some big names like CM Ashok Gehlot, state BJP chief Vasundhara Raje, Assembly Speaker Dipendra Singh Shekhawat, Congress state chief Chandrabhan and NCW chairperson Mamta Sharma are remaining to contest for 200 Assembly seats in Rajasthan.

Out of 2715 valid nominations, 562 candidates have withdrawn their names till this evening, the office of the Chief Electoral Officer said.

Congress and opposition BJP have fielded candidates on all 200 constituencies, whereas BSP is fighting on 197 seats, National People’s Party on 142, CPM 37 and CPI on 23 seats.

896 independents are also contesting the polls, an officer said.

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot will contest from Sardarpura seat in Jodhpur district, from where BJP has fielded Shambhu Singh Khetasar, a Rajput candidate.

BJP state President Vasundhara Raje will contest from the Jhalarapatan seat.

PCC President Chandrabhan is up against a triangular contest with sitting MLA Rita Choudhary (a Congress rebel contesting as independent) and BJP’s Saleem Tanwar from Mandwa seat in Jhunjhunu seat.

Assembly Speaker Dipendra Singh Shekhawat will try his fortune from Srimadhopur seat against BJP candidate Jhabar Singh Khara.

Mamta Sharma, chairman of NCW, will face poll battle from Bundi seat.

src: http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2013-11-16/news/44138274_1_president-vasundhara-raje-pcc-president-chandrabhan-bjp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.