Rajasthan News

Rajasthan Panchayat Polls Result

by RajasthanDirect
Feb 06, 2015

The Results for Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti which went to polls in three phases in Rajasthan last month has declared on Thrusday. Out of 295 Panchayat Samitis, the BJP bagged 41 with the Congress not far behind winning 31.

A spokesman of Election Commission said on thrusday that of the 6,236 seats in the Samitis, BJP won 937, Congress 740, Independents 124 and BSP five seats, The BJP won 174 out of 1,014 Zila Parishad wards while the Congress secured 144 and Independents 3. The counting of votes began at 8 am.

The BJP has won seven Zila Parishads of Chittorgarh, Baran, Jhalawar, Rajsamand, Tonk, Pratapgarh and Sirohi. The Congress won the Kota, Sawaimadhopur, Jaisalmer, Karauli, Kota and Bundi Zila Parishads.

It was the first major electoral test for the parties after the Lok Sabha elections eight months ago when BJP had won all 25 seats. In bypolls held in September last year, BJP had lost three out of four Assembly seats. However, in civic bodies polls, BJP had edge over the Opposition Congress by securing four municipal corporations and scores of municipal bodies late last year.

Congress Party leaders pointed out that the difference in vote share between the Congress and the BJP was a whopping 26 per cent in the Lok Sabha elections, but  this time the Congress got 46 per cent while the BJP bagged 46.5 per cent of the votes, making the gap just 0.5 per cent.

Src:- http://indianexpress.com/article/india/india-others/rajasthan-panchayat-polls-bjp-wins-7-zila-parishads-cong-bags-6/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.