Rajasthan News

Rajasthan Kisan Aayog chairman resigns to seek election ticket

by RajasthanDirect
Nov 01, 2013

Ticket snatching process speeds up now in Rajasthan congress. In a similar manner Rajasthan Kisan Aayog chairman Narayan Singh tries to put pressure by resigning from the post. He is an strong contender of getting Congress ticket for the assembly elections due on December 1. After resigning from a ‘post of profit’, now as per law, Narayan Singh has become eligible to contest the election while he retains the post of Aayog chief. The Jat leader from Shekhawati offered the same reason to the media after putting in his papers.

Reports about Singh’s family also circulating in congress arena that some family members also eyeing the party ticket from Danta-Ramgarh assembly constituency in Sikar district. Singh lost the last assembly election from Danta-Ramgarh to CPM’s Amra Ram in 2008. Names of the veteran leader’s son and the daughter-in-law were doing the rounds this time.

“None from my family has claimed the Congress ticket from Danta-Ramgarh; only I have sought it,” Singh told reporters on Thursday. “My two-year tenure was getting over on November 26. Moreover, I want to contest the assembly election so have resigned from the Aayog,” he added.

Singh, a former president of the state Congress, remained an influential Jat leader from Shekhawati whom the party could ill afford to deny nomination in the coming assembly elections. It was Singh’s political stature that made chief minister Ashok Gehlot to accommodate the former on a significant post in the government despite his loss in the 2008 assembly elections. By quitting the Aayog post now when the Congress is about to declare its candidates for the scheduled assembly elections, Singh has sent a message to the party high command about his resolve to contest the 2013 elections too.

On the other hand, Singh’s resignation has built pressure on other Congressmen occupying posts of profit in the government to quit and demonstrate their seriousness as candidates for the coming assembly elections. Rajasthan seeds corporation chairperson Dharmendra Rathore, minorities commission chairperson Mahir Azad and social welfare board chairperson Vijay Laxmi Bishnoi are among those seeking the Congress ticket for 2013 elections.

src: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/25020965.cms

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.