Rajasthan News

25 women candidates win in Rajasthan Polls

by RajasthanDirect
Dec 09, 2013

BJP outstanding win in Rajasthan Assembly Polls suppressing Congress in Rajasthan has also seen victory of 25 women candidates in the state.

Among the 25 winners elected for the 14th Vidhan Sabha, 19 are from BJP. There were 29 women MLAs in the 13th assembly.

Maximum women winners are from BJP, including its chief ministerial candidate Vasundhara Raje. While NPP has two, Congress has one and there is one Independent female winner, two women candidates have emerged victorious from other parties.

Raje defeated her nearest Congress rival Meenakshi Chandrawat by a record margin of 60,896 whereas 8 BJP women candidates won their seats by a margin over 20,000.

Mahila Congress state president Shakuntala Rawat won Bansur seat with a margin of 23,916 whereas NPP’s Golma Devi and Geeta Verma, Independent candidate and sitting MLA Anju Devi and other parties’ Kamini Zindal and Sonadevi are also victorious.

A total of 166 women candidates had contested the December 1 elections in the state.

src: http://www.business-standard.com/article/politics/25-women-candidates-win-in-rajasthan-113120900034_1.html

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.